Adjusting

The adjustment from full-time to part-time is interesting.  My first week I was adjusting to the schedule at work.  As a part-timer, there is somewhere you have to be all the time at a specific time.  You have to have your break when someone comes to relieve you from the desk and you have to be back in exactly 15 minutes or however long your break is that day so that they can go back to doing whatever it is they were doing.

As a full-timer, other than the hours I spend on the desk, I make my own schedule.  Since I’m still so new and we’re taking a storytime break, my days haven’t even been guided by storytimes and programs and the after school rush was slower since California schools were testing when I started.  So I could technically take lunch when I wanted, take breaks when I wanted, and just as long as I was on the desk more or less when I was supposed to be (my co-workers are lenient and understanding of situations that might arise), I could do whatever I wanted whenever.

This was/is a weird feeling.

At first I felt like I wasn’t doing enough everyday to justify my paycheck.  I was so used to having to compact all of my work into a few short hours – most spent on the reference desk – that this open timeline felt leisurely.  It actually made me feel a little guilty.  Like I wasn’t doing enough.  But, in fact, I did get a lot done.  I planned a month’s worth of pre-school storytimes and started learning and planning the month’s baby storytimes.  I conducted a 4th grade class visit.  I organized Summer Reading Program bookplates and started inventorying bookmobile books.  I read up on Glendale’s policies, attended a Book Order meeting, and met like 50 new people.  I also had to deal with obtaining keys and parking passes and health insurance.  Now that I think about it, I did a lot more than I thought I did in my first week and a half.  The difference was – I did it all at work instead of taking my work home with me.

As a teen librarian for Redondo I frequently did stuff at home.  I tried not to, but sometimes you just can’t help it.  Especially when you can’t turn librarianship off.  While I still have my committee work and stuff to do at home, I’ve noticed that I am better able to relax after work and focus on my personal life.  Maybe since I’m not worried about what day tomorrow is and what library I’m supposed to be at or if the new schedule is out so that I can plan my personal life.

I have a pretty regular schedule for at least the summer and I know where I’m supposed to be and when and what I’m supposed to do when I get there.

It’s a grand feeling.

2 thoughts on “Adjusting

Leave a Reply

