Last Days & First Days

The last week and a half has been a roller coaster of emotions for me.  Here are the highlights:

  • Thurs.  5/10, I said goodbye, after 2.5 years to my PVLD family.  They threw me an awesome party, made me a fabulous scrapbook, got me a great friend for Jimmy, and took me out for drinks during the weekend.
    • For my last storytime that morning, I started off reading Maurice Sendak’s Where the Wild Things Are in honor of the author’s passing that week.  When I read the opening sentance, I choked up and got teary eyed. An experience that’s never happened to me in storytime.  I don’t know if it was thinking of Maurice Sendak never writing another children’s book again or my realizing that this is my last storytime at PVLD, but it was an emotional (and great!) storytime that got lots of compliments from the parents afterwards.  I did a storytime of all of Jimmy’s favorites, which was lucky because I realized after Storytime started that I forgot to open the flannels and do a once over on the stories that morning.  Luckily, I didn’t need any practice.
  • Fri. 5/11, I said goodbye, after 1.5 years to my RBPL family.  They all sent me off with the words “I won’t say good luck because you don’t need it and I won’t say you shouldn’t go because you should”.  Gotta love the realists.
  • Tues., 5/15, Our book (Hawaiians in Los Angeles) came out!  The release party was held at the Toyota Museum and it was insane.  We estimated that around 300 people showed up (We were expecting 150) and we signed for the WHOLE TIME we were there!  That’s about 3 hours near straight of signing.  Eventually I will go into more detail about this event at the Wrong Half.  Maybe this weekend.
  • And last, but not least, Wed., 5/16, I started at Glendale Public Library!  So far, everyone at Glendale has been the nicest they could be and I am slowly settling in.  My average commute on the way to work has been 1 hr – 1 hr 15 min and on the way home I’ve been getting there in about 45-55 min so a more or less 2 hour round trip overall.  Which, after 3 years of waiting, isn’t too shabby.  I’ll take it!

More to come as I settle in, life gets into some kind of routine, and I get my bearings!

From the YR Department

From the Staff Association

Jimmy & Curly, BFF

My gift to my co-workers for all the great years!

Leave a Reply

