B&T Preview Day

I’ve really been neglecting this blog and all of the cool stuff I’ve had the privilege of doing since I work at 2 libraries, which means twice the number of resources, so I’m going to try and catch up in the next few days if for no other reason than pure documentation.

Back in February, thanks to Redondo Beach Public Library, the part-time Children’s Librarian & I got to attend Baker & Taylor‘s Spring Preview Day.  Basically we sat for a whole (10-3) day in the Fullerton Public Library Community Room and got to see and hear about all the new books and movies coming out for Kids & Teens.  Some I’d already ordered, some looked pretty terrible (I’m looking at you, Harlequin Teen), and some looked pretty awesome.  I just have to say that I love going to librarian stuff.  Especially Children’s Librarian stuff.  They get excited over everything.  Some of the books elicited resounding “Awwwws!” throughout the room, some fist pumps for books like Insurgent by Veronica Roth, the sequel to Divergent.

The highlight of the day, however, was meeting David Shannon!  In case you don’t know who David Shanon is, he wrote this awesome book:

Image

His talk was short, funny, well-paced, and interesting.  I had no idea his history as a political artist and found his progression to children’s books pretty neat.  He mostly promoted (and we got to go home with a free, signed copy of) his first book which is being re-released:

Image

All in all, it was a fun day, I saw some stuff I should definitely order both for Redondo Teens and Palos Verdes Youth, and I got to go home with a free copy of a Harlequin Teen book so that I can make judgements based on real facts instead of hear say.

Leave a Reply

