First Quarter Reflections

2012 is nearly 1/2 of the way done already, and this year is not exactly how I thought it was going to turn out back in January.  I didn’t get that job I interviewed for in the first week or so and since then have been re-vamping my game plan.  I overhauled my resume and decided that rather than being thorough, I needed to be succint and I broadened my application scope.

One of the ways in which I try to live my life is with no regrets, and one regret which I fear might occur is that I have never lived anywhere outside of LA.  So, I’m taking these two years of job searching within the LA area with small successes but no full-time success as a sign.  Maybe its time to get out of dodge before its too late.  I somehow doubt that I will leave LA forever since most of my and Christian’s family are here, but I need to know that I can live someplace where I can walk down the street and not recognize a face and establish myself without preconceived expectations as to who I am.  That, and I really really really love seasons and changes in weather and walking down the street like an Alaskan Native.  I know what you’re thinking — You’re a So Cal girl at heart.  You get cold in 65 degree weather.  Which is true, but I LOVE being in the cold.  Winter is my favorite time of year and I rarely go to LA beaches anyways…

But then, if someone wants to offer me a job in LA, I’m not going to say no to that either! 🙂

4 thoughts on “First Quarter Reflections

  1. I’ve always thought it is easier to find a library job if you don’t mind moving, it just seems some areas have a glut of qualified librarians whereas other places they are more scarce. Good Luck!

    • That is very true. Most of the people I know who have gotten jobs have either had to move or take on a pretty long commute. And, of course I live in an area with a very high concentration of librarians!

Leave a Reply

