Library Day in the Life Project – 8.4 & 8.5

Thursday and Friday I kind of just forgot about to post my days – mostly, probably because they were fairly uneventful.

Thursday, I played the role of Young Readers Librarian at Palos Verdes Library District again.  I had a normal, 1-5pm shift, of which 3 of those hours were on the reference desk which was actually pretty busy all 3 hours.  In my 1 hour off desk, I worked on finishing up the Biography list so that on Saturday I could just print it out and put it together.

Friday, I played the role of Teen Librarian at Redondo Beach Public Library.  I was only there for 4 hours, from 2-6, and spent all 4 hours straight on the reference desk.  The patron computers were being a hassle all afternoon, so I would say I spent at least 30-45 minutes messing with them.  I also spent about 10 minutes on the phone with a patron trying to help him locate his tax form inside of the booklet, which turned out to be much more complicated than you would think it would be.  There weren’t really any exciting reference questions and I spent some time working on my February Ordering and Organizing all my papers so that I can actually find stuff.

One more day of work and then I get 1 day off! yay!

Leave a Reply

