Library Day in the Life Project – 8.3

Day 3 was kind of an odd day because I worked the late shift – 4-8, meaning that most of my day needed to get done before I got to work.

I spent a decent portion of my early afternoon filling out job applications.  I would like to note that it is very frustrating when filling out paper job applications or applications which don’t let you copy and paste or which are not submitted through governmentjobs.com.  Today I spent 2 hours filling out the same information I’ve filled out far too many times, which is fine, except for jobs where they already have someone in mind, it can feel like a waste of an hour at the end of the day, or a waste of a few hours after filling out the application, driving an hour for a 30 minute interview, and getting rejected.  I fill out each application with the hope that they don’t have someone already in mind, or, that I will be so fabulous that that person will no longer bet he shining start they thought s/he was and will hire me instead.  I mean, you don’t know that they won’t hire you unless you apply and interview… But, sometimes you do… I’m being cynical, I must stop!  Positive outlook for positive results!

But, I digress.  So, here goes with Library Day in the Life

Today I played the role of Young Readers Librarian at Palos Verdes Library District

8:00am – Quick email clean out since I woke up late due to being at hula late the night before and dreading the long day ahead of me with more hula practice after work

9:00am – 10:00am – Turbo Kick Boxing @ 24 Hour Fitness

10:30am – 11:30am – Visited with my Grandpa

12:00pm – 1:00pm – Filled out and submitted a job application for Altadena Library District’s Teen Librarian opening (no supplemental questions – this was straight job application filling out)

1:00pm – 2:00pm – Lunch with the husband

2:00pm – 3:00pm – Filled out Glendale Library’s Children’s Librarian job application and started brainstorming the supplemental questions

4:00pm – 5:45pm – Afterschool craziness on the Reference Desk.  When I got on the desk I think the counter read 38 or 40.  By the end of this period, I was up to 60+.  I wasn’t alone on the desk, at least!  There were lots of Mission Report questions.  In between, I tried to clean out my work email and started working on some Collection Development for an older list before I took over my new areas but which needs to get done ASAP.

5:45pm – 6:00pm – Break Time!

6:00pm – 8:00pm – More reference desk time.  Also, there was a storytime so I got to pass out some tickets and hand stamps to some super cute toddlers and preschoolers.  Mostly, though, I worked on my BIBZ list and tried to be productive since this period was a lot quieter than the 4-5:45 period although not as quiet as you might expect…  Some reference questions that came up:  Books on groundhog day.  Books for a 5th grade boy who doesn’t like to read.  Anything.  Especially the usual go-to boy books like Percy Jackson or Stormbreaker.  And the surprise of the evening:  A nice conversation with a 5th Grade Boy about the well-written satire and beautiful descriptions in Mark Twain’s Huckleberry Finn.

8:00pm – Out of the library and onto my personal life!

Leave a Reply

