Library Day in the Life Project – 8.2

Here we are at day 2 of Library Day in the Life Project.  Today I played the role of Teen Librarian at Redondo Beach Public Library and had a full shift.  I discovered today that there is something I do which may look unproductive to those sitting behind me, when in reality I’m working really hard.  And this is brainstorming.  Today, my main focus as work was on getting stuff together for my Feb. 14 Un-Valentine’s Day Party.  I needed to make a Bingo Board and some MadLibs, Un-Valentiney letters.  And I was having a hard time figuring out how to make them without exerting too much energy.  So, I started brainstorming.  And checking email.  And looking at different websites and blogs and just kind of being all over the place while intermittently looking for people who had already made what I was looking for so that I wouldn’t have to reinvent the wheel.  After about 30 minutes of clicking, inspiration struck and I was a librarian on fire, creating MadLibs from scratch.  I made break-up letters and poems, and they came out pretty nifty if I do say so myself.  If they go over well with the Teens, I’ll post them after the program.  If not, then, well, I’ll let you seek out your own inspiration.

Anyways, onto my Library Day in the Life!

7:15am – 8:45am – Wake up, check email, check job search stuff and see an opening for a Librarian in Glendale.  Look into the application and supplemental information.  Reply to some APALA stuff and pay bills

8:45am – 9:15am – Go Running!

11:00am – 12:30pm – Go through work email which is surprisingly heavy.  Work on my Baker & Taylor Cart for the second half of January’s Teen Collection Development.  Make sure we have copies of all the recent award winners and honor books on order that we hadn’t bought previously.  Try to locate books that have been requested by teens and spend 10 minutes trying to figure out who Leslie Hall is and why she’s famous and conclude that thankfully, I cannot find the title the Teen requested we purchase which features her.  Receive a phone call for a job interview next week.  Spend a few minutes with that and then figuring out when the heck I actually applied for said job.  Troubleshoot for a few minutes for a patron who was having a hard time getting her Overdrive Audiobooks onto her iPod Classic

12:30pm – 2:00pm – Focus on Teen Advisory Council stuff.  Remind the teens that they have a meeting next week via email.  Start working on the Un-Valentine’s Day Party and write 2 Break-up Letters and Convert 2 poems to MadLibs style.

2:00pm – 4:00pm – Adult Reference Desk Time.  Lots of computer trouble shooting.  Some easy reference questions like “Do you have Lord of the Flies” and “Where can I find books on black holes?”

4:00pm-5:00pm – Break Time!

5:00pm – 8:00pm – More reference.  Too much computer trouble shooting for my taste.  Entertaining the RBPL regulars.

Leave a Reply

