Library Day in the Life Project – 8.1

This is my first go around with the Library Day in the Life Project.  I thought it might be fun to let people see what a day in a part-time, Children/Teen Librarian’s life is like… And it works out since I was actually quite productive today!

My post will be a little different than others… Since I’m part-time, not all of the Library-Related Stuff I get to do is done solely at work.  A lot of it flows into other parts of my day, as it does with many librarians, so its easiest for me to organize by an hourly breakdown.  I’ll stop once I leave work, though, since I usually try to leave the evenings for non-work related stuff since I have the mornings to be productive.

Today, I worked as a Young Reader’s Librarian at Palos Verdes Library District

7:00am – 8:30am – Wake up, Clean out email since I’ve been on vacation for 5 days and not really paying attention to email, check facebook, check and see what new library jobs have been posted in California, Oregon, and Washington (not many, let me tell you).  Make a list of librarian-y to-dos for the day

9:00am – 10:00am – Turbo Kick Boxing @ 24 Hour Fitness

12:00-12:15pm – Arrive at work (Straight to the reference desk), clock in, chat with my co-worker about how awesome NYC is and get the run-down on the reference desk and all the stuff I’ve missed at work.  Find out what kinds of assignments the kids have been working on and will probably have questions about after school.

12:15pm-1:30pm – Sit on the reference desk and go through my mountain of work email.  I have one question in which a patron asks for help in selecting a book to read to her child’s 3rd grade class as a mystery reader, so I give her a small stack of books which I think are great read-alouds for the age group, including some Jon Scieska of course.

1:30pm-2:00pm – Edit Talk Story Grant Application to reflect the new deadline, Give a few kids some hand stamps, Teach a father how to teach his child to cite an encyclopedia entry, and send out some APALA related emails and responses.

2:00pm-2:30pm – Leave the Reference Desk and go down to my own desk in Admin.  Upload pictures to PVLD’s flickr account for the previous week’s Pillow Tales Storytime & Craft.

2:30pm – 3:00pm – Go over revisions my co-worker made to the Biography Booklist we’d collaborated on.  Finish ordering in BIBZ for my JFiction area.

3:00-3:15pm – Try to finish labeling new Storytime Collection CDs, but sadly don’t get to finish

3:15pm-3:30pm – Break Time!

3:30pm – 5:00pm – A combination of afterschool reference questions, sending out the Talk Story Grant application to a number of listservs and battling the tide of emails as APALA gets ready for their next Executive Board Meeting (I’m the secretary so I need to compile the agenda).  Some reference questions I encountered:  Help finding Oliver Twist, Martin Luther King Jr. Books, and books for an 8th grader about modern-day holocausts which could be fiction or non-fiction.  My manager, who was on the desk with me, also fielded a patron complaint regarding the noise level and the allowance of teens in certain areas of the library.  Once the patron left, we discussed some options for a “quiet area” in the children’s section and how a remodel might develop.

5:00pm – Off work for the day!

 

Leave a Reply

