January Teen Programs

This month, my TAC meeting was the very first day the kids were back in school from Winter Break.  I had to admit, I was almost certain no one was going to show up, so I was preparing myself for an extra hour of catch-up work.  Surprisingly, I was wrong.  There were only2 teens absent.  After last month’s TAC meeting, I was seriously trying to figure out how the heck to get the teens to talk more.  The usual ice breakers weren’t working, so this month I went for Human Bingo.  When I remember, I’ll post my human bingo board, but, seeing as I’ve been trying to do that for 2 weeks and I haven’t been successful, I’ll just post someone else’s for those who don’t know what it is.  Basically, you create a bingo board with human characteristics – they can be physical appearances, likes/dislikes, places visited, sports played, etc.

I have to say that the human bingo went over really well.  They all got to know a little more about each other and they all actually talked to each other.  One thing that was a little dismaying was that for one of the boxes, I put “Likes to Read” and when we were playing for blackout no one would admit to liking to read so they all asked me to sign my name.  It was a very interesting revelation and kind of made my question why exactly they chose the library for their volunteer hours.  Ease?  Location?  Our awesome Graphic Novel section?  Maybe I’ll ask them at next month’s meeting… Give them a little survey on how we can improve TAC.

Something I also discovered this month… RBPL teens are not into video games at the library apparently.  Or, at least Dance Central 2 & Kinect Sports.  My program for January was a New Year’s Resolution themed program – Get Fit with Video Games – I had available the two games I just mentioned, plus stuff to make trail mix and we were supposed to have stuff to make tea (Jan is also Tea Month) but I couldn’t pull it off so I just bought some tea in case any teens were interested.  I was pretty excited about it.  Especially since this was the first Teen program that I did where I was in charge from inception to implementation.  Sadly, though, only 1 teen showed up.  She had a blast though and played Dance Central for almost an hour straight.  45 minutes in, I dunno if she felt bad for me or what, but she asked me to battle, so I played with her for a little bit.  Some younger kids peeked their heads in, and I asked if they wanted to stay since the teen that was there was only in 7th grade, and these looked like 5th or 6th graders, but they said no, that they had to leave and they just wanted to see what was going on.  So, disappointing in the lack of attendance, but at least the one who did attend loved it.  Luckily, it was a pretty cheap program to put on and I now have trail mix for days…

Next month I’m throwing an Un-Valentine’s Day Party on Valentine’s day, so we’ll see what attendance is like… Below are pictures from the program!


Leave a Reply

