Another orientation down…

Today I had my LAPL orientation for As-Needed Librarian (supported by Measure L), and I have to admit it was one of the best job trainings I’ve ever had — especially in a library.

I don’t know if its just me or if its libraries in general, but they seem to take advantage of people who have worked in libraries for a long time by not really training them.  One institution I worked at offered me a binder, a handshake, and a this is  your seat and after about 6 months, I felt like I had a general idea of how to do things – and this was after I graduated library school, so it wasn’t my first job or my first time interacting with the system.  But, I digress.  This training was really exceptional.  They taught us how to use their ILS, Carl, which I thought was the most beneficial part.  They went over using the pay module and how getting called in works and even went over SRP and how it works.

I was truely impressed and am actually excited to get my first assignment… Let’s hope it comes soon!

One thought on “Another orientation down…

  1. Hello! I attended the orientation on the day after yours. I also thought it was quite good! I am starting up an email list of other new As-Needed Librarians, so we can touch base every once in a while and compare notes. If you’d like to join, please send me an email. Thanks! – Dawn

Leave a Reply

