Toy Story goes to Hawai’i!

I dunno about you, but I’m tired of blogging about ALA, so I’m going to take a break and maybe or maybe not return to my notes and remaining 3 panels…

What I AM going to blog about though is the Toy Story short at the beginning of Cars 2!  I was a little nervous when this image popped up on the screen:

In my experience, this usually isn’t going to be good for the world of Hawaiian stereotypes.  But, I really like Pixar, so I held my breath and started praying.

And, I was pleasantly surprised!  I didn’t see a single coconut bra and while I did see fire dancing, I was conscious of the fact that Barbie & Ken were supposed to be at a luau, and thats the kind of thing they do at luaus and other than that I didn’t see too much that would have been offensive or in poor taste, and the short was even a little bit educational!  Mrs. Potatohead taught us the state bird and state fish:

and I learned some pretty creative stuff that you can do with construction paper and paint.

going through the photo stills I’m noticing an awful lot of grass skirts… but oh well.   it was still cute…

Leave a Reply

