#ala11 Picture Books go Digital!

Yes, I know, I’m lame.  I’ve been back home for a week now and I’m still playing catch up on all the happenings at #ala11.

I’ll blame it on Independance Day and this fabulous weather that has made me prefer tanning and sunshine over sitting hunched over a computer keyboard.

Anyways, onto Digital Picture books!

I was super excited about this panel because, regretabbly, I don’t have that much exposure to Digital Picture Books.  Ive seen the huge contraption at Carson Library which lets the kids be read to and have an interactive display with books, but thats about it.  I don’t even remember the company name that made the contraption – and I just spent 20 min looking online for it.  Either thats a sign of how old it is, or… we’ll just leave it at that.

Anyways, I didn’t get to stay for the whole panel because I had to be at the APALA Lit Awards Breakfast by 830am (The panel started at 8am), so my perspective on the panel is incomplete.  The few examples I were shown were earlier books, like Tumblebooks‘ version of Pattison’s Journey of Oliver K. Woodman, which, when compared to the print version, was a sad comparison.  The Tumblebooks version ultimately lost the artistic experience of the book from the very first page to the very last page, losing, even, part of the story, thus throwing book design right out the window.

The next book we watched, Scaredy Squirrel, was actually a super cute version (I thought anyways), but of course there were things that people liked and didn’t like, such as placing a tone that a live storyteller might not use or illustrations becoming distracting, or the book just becoming one of those book on video or Reading Rainbow style book reading – which, don’t get me wrong, I LOVED Reading Rainbow and not just because Levar Burton was on Star Trek and I used to wear my purple head band over my eyes.  But I digress.

Really, what I wanted to get out of the panel, was an evaluation of digital picture books by professionals.  But, in the little time I spent in the panel, and from what I heard from a colleague, the issue of good vs. bad, helpful vs. unhelpful, etc. was never really addressed…

So, at least I got to see a really cute kids e-book and I guess I’ll have to do some research and come to my own professional opinion…

But that kind of seems to be how this conference went anyways…

2 thoughts on “#ala11 Picture Books go Digital!

  1. It’s called a Peek-A-Book. Kids love it, but I think that’s because it’s a screen that they can zone out in front of.

Leave a Reply

