Terminology

I realized that Iʻm throwing around two terms which I donʻt explain my use of in these posts and in my tags which are actually essential to my research.

Endogenous: By endogenous, I am referring to those elements which are provided by the Native Hawaiian community itself.  These typically include examples such as halaus and Hawaiian Civic Clubs.

Exogenous: By exogenous, I am referring to those elements which are provided by the larger society, such as the City or State.  These typically include examples such as classes offered through Parks & Rec and Public Library collections.

Part of my research will be to determine how much of Native Hawaiian preservation and dissemination will be occurring from within the endogenous community versus the exogenous community.  Another part will be to determine how much from within the endogenous community conforms to exogenous forms (such as hawaiian civic clubs – which tend to follow a typical western style club with a pelekikena and alakaʻis and other officer positions).  I want to determine what it means and the implications if most of the support for Native Hawaiian cultural heritage has to come from within the endogenous community rather than being supported by larger society.

Leave a Reply

